Why Graduation Scares the Sh*t Out of Me…..

A few months from now I will be walking at graduation from the University of Louisville (well hopefully). The past 5 years of my life have been amazing, and I am honestly bittersweet about it ending. I’m not upset it’s ending because I will loose friendships or because I have developed great relationships with some professors. I am upset because the real world scares the living shit out of me…….

dsc_7810

I have been in school for over 19 years, 19 YEARS. I cannot be the only person feeling this overwhelming anxiety that my institutionalized security blanket will be ripped off come May. My everyday routine will suddenly change, and I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. My friends who are engineers or in nursing school are already talking about their new careers and how everything is perfectly planned out, WOW they seem like real adults. Yet I still call my mommy when I just paid rent and now only have $5 in my bank account and am sick of eating peanut butter sandwiches.

dsc_7833

It’s not just the real world either, I will honestly miss the college atmosphere. Being surrounded by educated individuals will be greatly missed. Staying up until 7 a.m. to write a paper will not be, but the feeling after the paper is complete will be. So maybe I should apply for graduate school? It has been an idea that I think about on regular basis. Why not? Maybe i’ll do internships for a year and return to grad school. Or maybe an internship will help me figure out what I want to do with my life.

I know any adult that reads this will laugh at me, because my 34 year old brother does every time I bring it up, but I will seriously take advice from anyone.

One thought on “Why Graduation Scares the Sh*t Out of Me…..

Leave a Reply

