Blog Assignment #3

Communication Technology has played a huge part in my education at the University of Louisville. All of the important information about a class is one click away on Blackboard, a site that helps professors effectively communicate with their students. Ulink is another tool that makes scheduling classes easy, and I couldn’t imagine communicating with professors without my school E-mail. All of my textbooks are ordered online, and my Spanish homework is almost entirely web-based exercises. The internet makes research papers so much easier. Instead of going through books in the library I can just search for reliable sources on the libraries database. Using Tegrity, where teachers can upload presentations outside of class, makes things a lot easier as well. So when I go to my research methods class, I am already prepared. Even smart phones help. I can record my professors, download the recording onto my laptop, and have access to it anytime. Communication technology can obviously be used to wonderful ends.

The technology used for foreign language online has improved my education tremendously as well. I did very poorly in Spanish during high school, but in college I got an A in Spanish. I believe this is due to online homework. There are just so many resources online. At the same time communication technology has had some bad affects on education. For instance, plagiarism. It is way too easy to plagiarize with modern technology, you can find people to write your papers anywhere. It is also very distracting. I will sit down to write a paper and find myself on Facebook for hours. Thus showing how technology is neutral. There are several ways that technology impacts education, some positively and some negatively.

MOOCs seem like a great cost efficient way to educate. I have already gotten a small taste of online learning from Tegrity lectures, but a video tapped lecture would probably make them seem more personal. In the end I would prefer in class lectures because I probably would procrastinate if all of my classes were online. I don’t think I could switch to ebooks either. Yes, they are more cost efficient, but hard copies are easier to highlight and study from. In the article they talked about ebook piracy, which is something I didn’t even think about. Many college students use torrent and other file sharing websites to illegally download textbooks because of how expensive they are. If ebooks do get mainstream, than the displacement theory will come into play as well. Ebooks would then replace hard copy books. Many book stores are going out of business today; Boarders, for example. Bookstores going out of business probably has to do with the ability to order books online and have them shipped to your house as well. In the end, I’m sure MOOCs and ebooks will replace physical education, it is just the transition to change that will be the problem.

Leave a Reply

